Skip to main content

Frederick Alexander papers

Identifier: 010.FA

Scope and Contents

The Frederick Alexander Papers contains biographical information, concert programs, correspondence, Alexander's will, and the Frederick Alexander Organ Dedication. The collection is arranged alphabetically and is divided into three series. Records date from 1910 to 2001.

The three series that are included in the collection are: Career and Legacy, and Frederick Alexander Organ Dedication and Scrapbooks. The Career and Legacy series contains newspaper clippings, concert programs and recordings, biographical materials and the last will and testament of Frederick Alexander. Materials date mostly between 1950 and the mid 1980's. Materials in this series are organized alphabetically. The Frederick Alexander Organ Dedication series contains materials related to the dedication of the Organ. Materials include clippings, concert programs, donor information, and information on the planning process of the dedication. Materials date from 1960-2001 but are mostly before 1980. The materials are arranged alphabetically. The scrapbooks series includes 8 scrapbooks organized in order from 1-8.


  • Creation: 1910 - 2001


Conditions Governing Access

Researchers are asked to request materials 24 hours prior to visiting the the University Archives.

Biographical Note

Frederick Alexander was the head of the Department of Music at Michigan State Normal College and Director of the Normal Conservancy from 1909 until 1941.

Alexander was born in Fenton, Michigan on 23 December, 1870. He received his Bachelor's degree in music from the University of Michigan in 1894. Alexander's main instrument was the organ. Before teaching at Michigan State Normal College, he was the head of the music department at the University of California, Berkeley from 1919 to 1922 in the summers. He was also a lecturer of Music History at Northwestern University in the summer of 1928. While teaching at Michigan State Normal College Alexander was the director of all the choral ensembles.

In addition to being an excellent teacher, Alexander was Dean of the Michigan Chapter of American Guild of Organists and the director of music for the Cranbrook Masque in Bloomfield Hills, Michigan.

After his retirement in 1941, Frederick Alexander moved west first to Santa Fe, New Mexico, then to Lemon Grove California. Alexander passed away in California on 14 October, 1955. In his will, Alexander left $90,000 to the music department at the Michigan State Normal College

In the years following his death Michigan State Normal College, now Eastern Michigan University used the money bequeathed to them to purchase a new organ for the University. The organ is named after Frederick Alexander in honor of his memory.


8.8 Linear Feet (2 archive boxes, 8 oversized boxes)

Language of Materials



Frederick Alexander was a Professor of music at Michigan State Normal College from 1909 to 1941. Alexander was a well known organist in Southeastern Michigan. His papers consist primarily of clippings, concert programs and the dedication of the Frederick Alexander Organ. The papers are arranged alphabetically. Records date from 1910 to 2001.

Frederick Alexander papers
Elizabeth Searls
2012 November 14
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the Eastern Michigan University Archives Repository

Bruce T. Halle Library, Room 310
955 West Circle Drive
Ypsilanti Michigan 48197