Skip to main content

Board of Regents minutes

Identifier: 011.BRM


The Eastern Michigan University Board of Regents minutes, includes, but is not limited to, committee recommendations regarding finances, faculty, student, and athletic affairs; reports from Regent Retreats, special meetings, and University appointed Presidential search committees.

Records commence with the creation of the Board of Regents in 1964 and document fully, with the exception of 2008, the business of the Board of Regents. The records are chronologically arranged and run from 1964-2017. Prominent past board members, with direct ties to Eastern Michigan University or the greater community of Ypsilanti, include Dr. Timothy J. Dyer, Gary Hawks, Philip Incarnati, J. Don Lawrence Jr., Dr. Richard N. Robb, and Donald E. Shelton.


  • Creation: 1964


Conditions Governing Access

Box 16: Faculty and Staff Approved Positions, files contain information on University personnel matters and is restricted for 50 years from the latest date of the materials in the files.

Administrative History

The Board of Regents has been the governing body of Eastern Michigan University since 1964 when the State of Michigan ratified a new constitution. Prior to 1964, the University was governed by the Michigan State Board of Education. The Board of Regents is divided into six different committees and meet on average six times a year to discuss University related functions.

The Board of Regents is comprised of eight regents, appointed to eight-year terms by the governor and approved by the Michigan State senate.

Former Regents are listed below with deceased regents indicated by 'd.'

O. William Habel (Jan. 1964-Oct. 1967) d. J. Don Lawrence (Jan. 1964-Oct. 1967) d. Dr. Martin P. O'Hara (Jan. 1964-Oct. 1967) d. Lawrence R. Husse (Jan. 1964-Dec. 1972) d. Virginia R. Allan (Jan. 1964-April 1974) d. Veda S. Anderson (Nov. 1967-Dec. 1974) Dr. Charles L. Anspach (Jan. 1964-June 1974) d. George E. Stripp (Jan. 1967-Dec. 1976) d. Dr. Mildred Beatty Smith (Jan. 1964-June 1977) Edward J. McCormick (Jan. 1964-Dec. 1978) d. Dr. John F. Ullrich (Jan. 1975-Oct. 1979) d. Linda D. Bernard (Oct. 1977 to Dec. 1980) James T. Barnes, Jr. (Oct. 1979-Dec. 1982) Carelton K. Rush (June 1974-Dec. 1982) Dr. Warren L. Board (Jan. 1979-Dec. 1984) Dr. Timothy J. Dyer (Jan. 1973-May 1984) Dolores A. Kinzel (Jan. 1977-Dec. 1984) d. Beth Wharton Milford (April 1974-Dec. 1986) d. Geraldine M. Ellington (Feb. 1981-Dec. 1988) d. Donald E. Shelton (Feb. 1987-Feb. 1990) William Simmons (March 1983-Dec. 1990) Geneva Y. Titsworth (March 1983-Dec. 1990) John H. Burton (Jan. 1985-Jan. 1992) d. Dr. Richard N. Robb (Dec. 1967-Dec. 1992) Thomas Guastello (Jan. 1985-Dec. 1992) Robin W. Sternbergh (Jan. 1991-Dec. 1992) Frederick L. Blackmon (Jan. 1993-March 1996) Anthony A. Derezinski (Jan. 1984-Dec. 1996) James Clifton (Jan. 1989 - Dec. 1996) Mara L. Letica (Jan. 1993 - Jan. 1997) Gayle P. Thomas (Jan. 1991 - Jan. 1999) Carl D. Pursell (Jan. 1993 - Dec. 1999) d. Donna Milhouse (April 1999 - Feb. 2000) William J. Stephens (June 1996 - March 2001) Robert DeMattia (June 1991 - Dec. 2002) Rosalind E. Griffin, M.D. (March 1997 - Dec. 2004) Mike Morris (March 1997 - Dec. 2004; Jan. 2011 - present) Steven G. Gordon (May 2001 - March 2005) Joseph Antonini (June 1997 - Dec. 2006) Jan A. Brandon (April 2000 - Dec. 2006) Karen Q. Valvo (March 2001 - Dec. 2006) Sharon J. Rothwell (Jan. 2003 - Dec. 2006) Ismael Ahmed (Jan. 2007 - Aug. 2007) Philip Incarnati (Feb. 1992 - Dec. 2010) Gary Hawks (Jan. 2007 - Dec. 2010) Mohamed Okdie (Nov. 2007 - Feb. 2011) Thomas W. Sidlik (Jan. 2005 - Dec. 2012) Roy E. Wilbanks (Jan. 2005 - Dec. 2012) Floyd Clack (June 2005 - Dec. 2014) Francine Parker (Jan. 2007 - Dec. 2014)

Board Chairs

Edward McCormick (Jan. '64 - Jan. '75) Richard Robb (Jan. '75 - Feb. '85) William Simmons (Feb. '85 - Jan. '88) Geneva Titsworth (Jan. '88 - Jan. '89) John Burton (Jan. '89 - Jan. 91) Anthony Derezinski (Jan. '91 - Jan. '93) Robert DeMattia (Jan. '93 - Jan. '95) Philip Incarnati (Jan. '95 - April '05) Karen Valvo (June '05 - Dec. '06) Thomas Sidlik (Jan '07 - Feb. '09) Roy Wilbanks (Feb. '09 - Dec. '12) Francine Parker (Dec. 12 - Dec. '14) Mike Morris (Feb. '11 - present)


59.6 Linear Feet (56 record center cartons, 9 archive boxes)

Language of Materials



University Archives continues to add materials to the collection on a yearly basis.

Existence and Location of Originals

Additional copies from 1964-2011 are available for reference in the Archives Reading Room, 310 Halle Library; and Halle Library third floor west.

Existence and Location of Copies

Digital Copies of 2007-2016 Board of Regent Meeting Materials are available through digital commons at

Related Materials

Prior to the establishment of the governing body, Board of Regents, the school was governed by the Superintendent for Public Instruction, Michigan. These reports include meeting minutes, financial statements and examination standards. Reference copies are available in the University Archives reading room, 310 Halle Library.

Also see the Board of Regents Packets collection [011.BRP]

More recent copies of these packets are also available online />

Board of Regents minutes
Eastern Michigan University
Leslie Van Veen, Alexis Braun Marks, CA, Amber Davis
2011 October 7
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the Eastern Michigan University Archives Repository

Bruce T. Halle Library, Room 310
955 West Circle Drive
Ypsilanti Michigan 48197